When Is Enough, Enough?: How I Met Your Mother Edition

WARNING: CONTAINS SOME LIGHT SEASON 9 SPOILERS FOR HIMYM. If you don’t want anything spoiled, I’d suggest not reading.

I finally am caught up on the last couple of episodes of the new season of How I Met Your Mother, and I don’t know how much longer I can watch.

If you had asked me a year ago if I thought the show should have a ninth season, I would have said yes in heartbeat. Now that season 9 is halfway through, I’m wishing they had added 3 episodes onto last season and ended it there.

First things first, there was no need to focus an entire season on one weekend. It feels as though everything is being dragged out rather than neatly being wrapped up.  It seems as though every other episode this season is vaguely related filler.

While I was impressed by the continuity of the exes and the slap bet in “Slapsgiving 3: Slappointment in Slapmarra”, I found myself asking “What is the point in all this?” The more I watch the more I question why I’m still watching. This episode was driven by an outlandish storyline that never really related back to anything more in the season, and it ended with Boyz II Men singing “You Just Got Slapped.” That literally happened.

Was a new season really worth all this excess? I don’t think so. I find myself even forgetting that this season is happening because it has yet to completely enthrall me. I’ve been watching the episodes, but usually not until a week or so later.

My dream season would have been this: Three episodes after the initial reveal of the mother. One episode of how the mother met the gang, one episode of Barney & Robin’s wedding, and one final hour long episode of the moments during and directly after Ted meets the Mother.

My dream season will never happen, so until Ted meets the Mother, I (and the rest of the show’s viewers) will have to sit through filler and odd plotlines leading up to the season finale that we’ve all been waiting years for.

One final note, I think enough will be rebooting the series through the spinoff “How I Met Your Father”…

Leave a Reply

